If you find yourself or someone you know in a situation where DUI charges are involved, here is all you need to know about it! Each state has different laws, so if you are driving in another state other than Florida, make sure you educate yourself on those laws as well. Here are the DUI laws of Florida.
Any blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above puts you at risk of a DUI charge. Florida DUI regulations are quite tougher than other state’s laws as well. If you are pulled over and are arrested for driving under the influence you will find yourself sitting in jail. In order to be released from jail it is much more difficult than if you were in jail for a different offense. Before being released from jail for a DUI, there are criteria you must meet. The criteria includes: if you are no longer under the influence, your blood alcohol level and breath alcohol level is .05 or lower, your normal faculties are no longer impaired, and at least 8 hours of jail time has been met. If you do not meet all of these requirements, then you must sit in jail until you do.
After the jail time, a DUI fine will be charged. Your first DUI fine will be much different than your DUI fine for a second offense, and for a third offense, and for a fourth offense. Your first DUI fine will be anywhere between $250 and $500. However, if your DUI fine is for a breath alcohol level or a blood alcohol level of .20 or higher or have a minor in your car, your fine will be increased dramatically. If you are being fined for a blood alcohol level or breath alcohol level of .20 or higher or if you have a minor in your car, your fine will be between $500 and $1,000. For a second DUI fine, which means if you have been arrested previously for a DUI, your fine will be higher than your first fine. Your fine will be between $500 and $1,000. However, if you are being fined again for a charge including a blood alcohol level or a breath alcohol level of .20 or higher or have a minor in your car, then your fine will be between $1,000 and $2,000. If you have a third DUI charge within 10 years of your first one, your charges will be at the most $5,000. However, if your blood alcohol level or breath alcohol level is .20 or higher or have a minor in your car, then your fine will be a minimum of $2,000. If your third DUI fine is more than 10 years after your first DUI fine, then you will have a minimum fine of $1,000 and a maximum of $2,500 and if you have a blood alcohol level or a breath alcohol level of .20 or higher or a minor in your vehicle than your minimum fine would be at least $2,000. For any fines after your third offense, you will have a minimum of $1,000 and if you have a blood alcohol level or a breath alcohol level of .20 or higher or a minor in your vehicle than your minimum fine would be at least $2,000.
Make sure you know all the information you need in case you are ever in a situation where you are arrested for DUI. It is very important to know your rights and how it works!